Skip to content
November 5, 2009 / J. Shaw

My Experience at a Tea Party Last Night

Last night my wife and I attended our first political event. We went to The Tea Party Express in Oklahoma City.  We were in town visiting our son. The national Tea Party group was in town on their tour. No matter what party your belong to this  group applies to you. The Tea Party group is against government bailouts, government taking over health care,the global warming bill. The tea party is for small government, frugal government spending, less taxes and a strong national defense. I also believe in these things.

Denver2[1] 

Denver5[1]

There were maybe a dozen speakers. All were ordinary citizens. All expressed their views on many issues. This was an issues Tea Party. I heard the name Obama  six times and a few Pelosi’s but this was about issues that we face in our daily lives that government is interfering with.The crowd was orderly. They crowd looked like everyday people, neighbors, coworkers. The ages of the crowd seemed to be in their mid-thiries to seniors. Most of the people had American flags and or homemade signs. I bought a very lagred “Dont tread on me” sign. We recited the Pledge of Allegance and sang the national anthyem. A one minute prayers was said. Gosh, I hope that didn’t offend anyone.

This event was held on the steps of the capital building and north plaza of the capital complex. Attendance was estimated at 3000 people. This was one of the best experiences I have had in my 63 years. Our pictures aren’t ready but will be today.Photos are from the same event in Denver. It looks identical to what I saw last night in Oklahoma City. SHAW

Leave a Reply

